Writing Process Posters: Draft, Review, Edit, Proofread, Publish

What is it?

A series of classroom posters of a five step writing process: plan, draft, review, edit/proofread, publish.

There’s plenty out there, but as always I didn’t like the design at all. As always, the images are from Google Images.

I believe when I made these, I based them on the writing process in Merryn Whitfield’s Blakes Writing Guide for Primary Students, (2009, Pascal Press: Glebe, New South Wales). Despite the name, the Blakes guides are most definitely out of the reach of most Primary Students; literacy-wise, they’re certainly appropriate for my Year 11 literacy classes, so I use them extensively.

How it’s used:

I printed them out at A3 size, laminated them and put them up in my English classroom. They are mostly so I can refer students to the stages when confronted with the ‘Why do I have to do a draft?’ grumble.

I had an idea to make them interactive: I would provide students each with a name card (or a Post-It) and have them move their name along as they completed each stage in the process.

Download:

2010 309 The Writing Process Posters DOC

2010 309 The Writing Process Posters PDF

One thought on “Writing Process Posters: Draft, Review, Edit, Proofread, Publish

  1. Merryn Whitfield December 20, 2011 / 4:07 pm

    Hi,
    I am so glad to see real teachers using Blake’s Writer’s Guide in their classrooms. The guide incorporates many skills and strategies which are suitable for a wide range of budding authors, from novice to experienced. I like your posters too, although I usually try to include some graphics to make them even more appealing to our Gen Y multimodal clientele. However I must disagree with your conclusions as to the age suitability of the guides series. They were written by a primary teacher for primary students, and if you have a look at the new National Curriculum, and our Board of Studies version in NSW, the expectations and learning requirements of students in primary schools are higher than ever before. I believe in raising the bar and encouraging students to exceed their own expectations. Good luck with your blog and your teaching! 🙂 Merryn

Leave a Reply

