Identifying Text Types activity

New product posted to my Teachers Pay Teachers site.

Every Australian English teacher can use this resource to help their students gain awareness of different text types!

A set of eight authentic web texts around one common topic (‘cats’) to be used to help students learn to identify the differences between text types. Also includes a handout describing different text types, an analysis sheet for determining which text type a particular text is, an abbreviated version of each source for a lower students. All documents are provided in PDF for easy printing and Word formats for easy editing.

Essentially I run this activity at the beginning of the year with my year 8-12 students. I give groups of students a copy of each source and tell them to identify which is which text type.

I’ve also used a similar activity when conducting training sessions for the teachers in my school as part of a literacy program. Getting to know text types is as important for teachers in Science and Woodwork as it is for English teachers.

Text types covered: Information Report, Narrative, Recount, Exposition (One sided persuasive), Discussion (two sided persuasive), Review/Response, News Report and Procedure. I chose a news report over the standard explanation/description because I use it more often at secondary level.

I’ve also included answers and a list of further resources on Text Types.

See the product here: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Identifying-Text-Types-activity-for-Middle-and-Secondary-Australian-Curriculum-1114797

One thought on “Identifying Text Types activity

  1. Adrienne Kajewski August 30, 2015 / 5:01 pm

    Thank you Duffy, Although I am a DECD employee who also happily shares resources(although I haven’t been brave enough to progress to TPT yet), when I found this particular set for sale at a mere $2 I decided it was more respectful to your time and expertise to pay for this work than ask for a freebie (although I DO love that you make this offer).

Leave a Reply

